New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

1966 Mustang salvage questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 05:15 AM
otstang

Default 1966 Mustang salvage questions

Hi
I'm new to the neighborhood but, I have always been a Mustang gear head. In anycase I recently came across a 1966 Mustang here in California that was fully restored from some sort of "salvage" state (it has a Salvage Title). The previouse owner said "they did not know it was Salvaged or exactly what it meant". After I explained the reality of the situation the owner offered the vehicle to me for a price that was even less than the paint job done earlier this year just to try and recoupe some of there money. I drove it and feel in love I have not driven a true V8 the rest is history.

It has a sweet 289 v8 w/ a three speed automatic that sound and run pur....fect especially with the new dual exhaust system & "glass packs" . The seven month old black paint job on a scale of 1 to 10 is about a 6 to 7 exterior & interior looks awesome & straight with all the appropriate badging, new official upgraded JVC cassett/CD and would rate them about an 8+ (9 or more to me is show/trophy winning).

In short just wondering what my Stang would be worth out in the real world it has only 44k original miles? Every time I start it up I'm in Mustang Power Heaven with a smile from ear to ear.

PS. Is there any legal way to get a new non-salvage title by resubmitting it as a "collector or Antique" vehicle? Just thought I ask.

Sorry for the monolog, but ya know Its a Stang Thing.
Old 12-03-2006, 06:03 AM
LegallyTorchRED
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: 1966 Mustang salvage questions

Welcome, I'm no expert, but I wouldn't worry about the "salvage" title as long as the title matches up with the DMV, and you can plate/register it. The car could have been a barn find, out of a junkyard, etc. What state is the salvage title from ? You might want to check with them.