New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

dndgeek • New Britain, CT

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2008, 12:42 PM
dndgeek

Default dndgeek • New Britain, CT

My first post went into the pic section as I missed the noob section. Anyway,I'm 36, out of New Britain, CT and ammarried with 3 kids. I've been wanting to get back into a muscle car of some kindsince my '71 Nova died years ago. I can turn a wrench, but I'm no mechanic to be sure. I was considering buying a late 60s Camaro and restoring it while I learn when the S197 came out.

I'mon my 2nd '05+ V6 as my first (red) one got demolished by an old lady that ran a red light in the rain. Well, it wasn't totaled (to my dismay; rather get a new one), but when I got it back from the dealer (where I had it repaired), the clutch was slipping. Now, I've never blown a clutch in my life and I noticed zero clutch issues before the accident and I don't really race much (I just like to open it up onwinding back roads. CT hills are great for that.). The tech tells me that it was so bad that hecouldn't even put the clutch back together! Come to find out, the clutch parts were back ordered for about two months. Considering that the S197 had only been out for 2 years at that point, itmakes me think that there's a problem with the OEM clutches, especially if they're V6-specific (not sure). Anyway, instead of catching rides for two months, I decided to trade it in...