New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

I want to go fast!

Old 06-22-2008, 02:03 PM
WHoaNeLLie

Default I want to go fast!

Hey guys I am new to Mustangs completely, so I am sure I'll be askin' tons of questions! About 2 years ago I bought an '89 LX with a 5.0, I drove it for the summer then stuffed it in the back of my garage. It is basically stock or so I think, with about 120k miles on it, with an auto. I am back in school so I no longer have the money to play with these thing but I do want to get that car back out and going and start making it FAST!

So now my question is how do you make these cars fast for cheap, which seems very doable? Where do you get the best horsepower for your dollar?

Also, I need help with some jargon! What does SD mean? Is an '89 LX considered a Fox Body? Are there any problems with this year of car I need to know about before I start investing money?

Any help or links anyone can throw my way is greatly appreciated!

Josh
Old 06-22-2008, 02:28 PM
.boB
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: I want to go fast!

WHat do you mean by fast? Drag strip, autocross, road course, or just fun on the street? I have a car that's not particularly quick on the drag strip (low 12's). But on the road course it's a monster.

What do you mean by cheap?

Start first by making sure everything is in good working order. Fluids, filters, plugs, wires, etc.

Old 06-22-2008, 03:31 PM
WHoaNeLLie

By fast I mean 300 hp at the rear wheels... I just want something that can be a work in progress. I want a car thats fun on the street, but could take to the track if I wanted to. A 12 second car would probably exceed my expectations, but the faster the better!

By cheap I was wanted to know what is the best bang for the buck with these cars. I have a 7.3L Powerstroke, and have been playing with that for years, I have thousands invested but thouthsands to go(I do all my own engine work).