New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

03 Cobra Owner Here

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2009, 09:09 PM
ecal533

Default 03 Cobra Owner Here

I have visited the site numerous times but never gave out info on my history with the mustang.

I graduated back in 1985 and became interested in the 5.0 cars in about 87. A buddie has a black 84GT 5-speed and let me drive it. It was my first experience with the crisp feel of the throttle, the torque of shifting through the gears and the solid stance and ride that these first real GT's had. Later another friend bought an 86GT, wht with auto trans. It also was quick and a bit more refined. Being the first fuel injected stang gave it a differant feel as well.
So the search was on. I had a limited budget and a taste for a 5.0 car. I looked everywhere locally and found nothing untill I drove behind a Ford Dealer one evening and saw a red w/ black below the molding, 79 foxbody (first year) with the famed 5.0 badge on the side. It had a red interior, aftermarket sunroof and an automatic C4 tranny. I wasn't happy about the A/T but the car was perfect. Turned out it was owned by one of the sales people and not even for sale. He never saw me coming though and I talked him into selling this car for $2500 bucks. It also has a set of Cragar SST rims and had only 23k miles on it.