New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

What do I need to know, newb buying first mustang.

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 01:09 AM
newbstang

Question What do I need to know, newb buying first mustang.

Okay guys/ girls I am looking into getting my first mustang I wanted to get a fox body and slowly build it up as a fun and fast car as I have a slow toyota pickup now.
There is one on my local craigslist that is for $500 its a 1982 gt manual.
Since I am new to mustangs sorta what should I check out or just things to check over when going to look at in these older stangs because I don't want to buy one of the worst years or anything like that. I am prepared to run into some things but I am very mechanically inclined.

Please any and all input would be great.
Old 04-17-2012, 10:21 AM
Sleeper_GT
6th Gear Member

Your best bet is to post this same question in the tech section for that year. You will hear from the experts on that model. GL and welcome to MF.
Old 04-17-2012, 10:29 AM
BaltRavens
2nd Gear Member

Well being a manual it for sure should be a 5.0 GT. I know some of the auto's in 1982 had 4.2L motors in them. A true 1982 GT should have rear spoiler, hood scoop, fog lamps on the front. Also the 1982 GT's only came in Red, Black and Silver. I would get the vin and have Ford run it for you. Ford will tell you if the car is a GT and what factory motor etc. it had/has.

I personally wouldn't start with a $500 1982 GT if it was my first mustang and I knew nothing about mustangs. I would recommend a 1986-1995(spend more than $500) 5.0 if you're looking for a used/cheap 5.0. Its your choice get what YOU want etc. but just trying to toss some feedback around.