New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

First car help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2013, 12:11 AM
Teebee182

Default First car help!

Hi I am 16 yrs old and will be getting my license soon so I have been looking around for a car to buy and came across the one I have always wanted. It's a 2001 base mustang with 90k miles for 6,000. It is in my favorite color for a mustang (brown) and I feel that if I pass this opportunity up I won't have another chance for a long time. Fell in love with it right when I saw it! Although, there are a few cons to it

1. I live in mass so snow will be a pain I heard
2. I am new to stick shift and it might be difficult to learn
3 it is not a gt and I've been getting told by people they don't even consider it a mustang and its a waste
I just want some opinions that matter so help me out!
Old 08-19-2013, 01:42 AM
Schmalgar
3rd Gear Member

Don't listen to the "get a GT or it's a waste" naysayers. So many reasons... They're jealous... They're ignorant... It's your decision, not theirs... Cheaper insurance...

My first car was an 83 tomato red Toyota Tercel. My second car was an 89 4-cylinder Mustang LX. And I loved that car! Would I have gotten a GT if I could've at the time? Of course. But I don't regret getting the LX at all. It looked great and I had fun driving it.

And the now older, wiser man that I am will add that at 16, you might not have experience with powerful v8s...? If not, starting out your driving life with a v6 won't be the worst thing. And you'll still have plenty of fun driving it, that I can assure you. Even if you get a GT, you gotta remember there are still faster cars out there...