New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Living with a 2012 Mustang...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2014, 11:09 AM
Kona_MCA

Default Living with a 2012 Mustang...

Ok, so maybe I WAS a little harsh in my first post. I had a bad morning in her and I needed to vent...I am no troll trying to bash Mustangs. I LOVE Mustangs and if you saw my mantle (will post some pics later), you would know how much I love them. I am an engineer, software instructor, technical writer and former auto technician who used to work for a Mustang and Ford Performance shop and I had a chance to build, drive and drool over almost every kind of Mustang known to man. I specialized in Fox body cars but I know the early modular cars as well. The Terminator cars are my favorites. I still want a Black on Black '03 but loan values and terms on the older cars would put me around $750-$800 a month and that's too much of a bite out of single parents budget for me. One day I will have one as a second car but having driven a modified customers car for a few days to diagnose a problem I know these cars can be a bear to drive everyday. A performance clutch in heavy traffic with a bad left knee day in and day out is not my idea of a good time. I had to get something that I could live with that still had some spirit. Having owned a '93 5.0 LX when it was new, I swore when the Coyote engine came out I would own another one. I drove a few 5.0s before I bought this one, but in the real world I decided to give a new 305 horse 6 speed car a chance. I have to tell you, this thing would have ran away from my old V8 car in stock form. I was really surprised at how far the V6 has come having driven a few modified ones back in the day and they still seemed to just barely be competitive with the V8 cars after spending thousands of dollars. Back then there was a lot of truth to 'Dude, you coulda had a V8'. This car reminds me in ways of my beloved LX. In ot