TPMS ? 2 sets of tires for one car ? - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > General Mustang Forums > New Member Area
Reload this Page >

TPMS ? 2 sets of tires for one car ?

Notices
New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

TPMS ? 2 sets of tires for one car ?

Reply

 
 
 
Old 11-04-2015, 04:11 PM
  #1  
Tony Iocca
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 9
Default TPMS ? 2 sets of tires for one car ?

My 2007 GT came with Pirelli PZero Nero's 234 55 zr17's I got 62,000 miles on them they are now at the tread wear bar. I have two (2) other sets of tires and rims total of 3 sets with the worn out originals. I would like to set up these other sets eight (8) tires to be able to swap them in and out to keep my show rims cleanest. So what I want to do is have 8 pressure sensors in 8 tires that are all set-up for one car. Can this be done or can a 2007 GT recognize only 4 sensors?
I think I have the following choices;
1) Install 8 sensors in 8 tires program 4 at a time reprogram every time I make a swap.
2) use 4 sensors and make a painful sensor swap every time I swap wheels.
3) put all 4 sensors in the spare tire and swap mix and match with ease.

Can anyone help me decide what to do?
Tony Iocca is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 07:58 PM
  #2  
danzcool
4th Gear Member
 
danzcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 1,938
Default

Do #1 and buy the tpms programming tool from AM or your favorite mustang parts place and run through the setup procedure every time you swap your wheels.

Or do #4 and just don't bother with programming and hit the reset button in the center dash when your car gives you the tpms warning.
danzcool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 07:42 AM
  #3  
88 orangepeel notch
6th Gear Member
 
88 orangepeel notch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 5,062
Default

Welcome to the forum.
88 orangepeel notch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 09:06 AM
  #4  
Carolina Man
3rd Gear Member
 
Carolina Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 699
Default

Welcome
Carolina Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 11:53 AM
  #5  
jwog666
5th Gear Member
 
jwog666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,260
Default

i would reprogram after each swap, why not take advantage of the feature, low profile tires are hard to eyeball to see if they are flat, having functioning tpms may save you a tire some day
jwog666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RWHEELS
S197 Handling Section
21
12-09-2015 07:50 AM
comets77
Wheels & Tires
2
11-07-2015 07:49 PM
Figure8allday
New Member Area
4
11-05-2015 09:52 AM
Eleazer2
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions
4
11-01-2015 01:15 AM
Webster454
2005-2014 Mustangs
1
10-31-2015 11:01 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: TPMS ? 2 sets of tires for one car ?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.