New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Help deciding between 2015 V6 and ecoboost

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2018, 08:51 PM
KentuckyFan1212

Default Help deciding between 2015 V6 and ecoboost

Hi all,
I am a recent college graduate and just got my first real job. First thing I want to do is get a new car. I have narrowed it down to the 2015 mustang (little bit more than I wanted to pay for a car at first but this is what I want). My question is has anyone had any experience driving both the V6 and the eco boost? I have seen some charts graphing HP and torque, and it seems like at low RPMs the ecoboost is clearly the better engine but it looks like HP seriously drops off at higher RPMs with ecoboost. Anyone felt this while driving the eco? I have driven the eco and liked it, have not been able to find a V6 to compare. My assumption is that the V6 would probably be a bit less jumpy and probably a smoother acceleration? On a dealers website I found that 0-60, 0-100, torque delivered to the wheels were pretty much identical between the two engines. Also I have heard before that bigger engines tend to last longer because each piston has less stress on it? Anyone know if there is any truth to that? Car salesman told me thats not true but I also understand he is trying to make a sale. Any advice or help is greatly appreciated.
Old 03-13-2018, 07:55 PM
ucinn
3rd Gear Member

IMO the V6 is an established engine which can take a beating. The ecoboost I heard had some early year problems. I have driven both and prefer the v6 myself because it did seem smoother. I'd say take the one you can get the best deal on,if equl, then personally I would go with the 6
Old 03-13-2018, 09:18 PM
JimC

Originally Posted by ucinn