New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

2006 V6 Mustang Coolant leaking, AC not working, no sign of overheating

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2018, 10:40 PM
vaultdweller_95

Angry 2006 V6 Mustang Coolant leaking, AC not working, no sign of overheating

Hello everyone.

New to this forum. Proud owner of a 2006 V6 Stang. I'll start off by letting you guys know I'm not very tech savvy nor handy when it comes to cars. I'm having some issues and I have no idea what's wrong.

Issue #1: My car has been leaking coolant from time to time. As far as I know, it only leaks when I turn the car off. I haven't checked if it leaks when the car is running. It's not much of a regular thing but it's leaked twice in the past week or so. Before this week it leaked about a month ago. Mechanic told me to change the reservoir cap and see if it works. I changed the cap and I thought it worked up until this week. The first time this week it nearly drained the coolant tank whereas the second time, the coolant tank was pretty much full. There is no sign of overheating as the needle is nowhere near H. I also noticed that there is coolant on some parts of the engine -- almost as if it sprayed some all over the place. Oh and just in case this is needed, I use 50/50 Prestone.

Basically, my AC turns on whenever it wants to. Most of the time, it doesn't turn on when the car turns on. Other times, I'll be driving and then it turns on. Other times, I'll be driving and it turns on but turns off right away.

Not sure if the AC and coolant leaking are connected but I thought I'd include what's going on just in case. The weirdest thing to me is that there's no overheat before I notice the leak so I really don't know what's going on

I'm super lost and any help will be appreciated. Thanks so much!
Old 05-09-2018, 10:41 PM
vaultdweller_95

Forgot to add "Issue #2" for the AC part
Old 05-10-2018, 04:30 AM
08'MustangDude
Banned