New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

08 Mustang V6 to V8 swap help

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2018, 01:30 PM
Katreno101

Default 08 Mustang V6 to V8 swap help

Hello there, yes I just joined and I look forward to talking to fellow Mustang enthusiasts. I'll be honest here as I have little to no knowledge on engine swaps. I need some guidance, resources and ideas. I am a quick learner. I can do simple stuff like spark plugs changes, oil changes, coolant flushes etc. Simple I know. But I really want to do this swap, I will have help locally but I need to know where to start.

I have a v6 engine with 160,000 miles on it with an automatic transmission, no performance mods. About 16 MPG right now. Shes a good girl, runs well but it's time for a new engine. I hve pretty much finished my exterior mods aside from some jack hit and run in the parking lot at work so I have to replace and paint a new rear end. Whatever, and almost dont with the interior as well.

what I'm wanting to do is put a coyote engine cause I get them at cost. I have no clue what Coyote fits, I'd love a 32 Valve V8, I want to stick with my automatic. I know, I know that sounds lame but we have a lot of ice here and I want to play it safe. I was told I should put a supercharger and cool air intake as well. So right now I'm trying to get a parts lit together and start there.

what brands and types do you guys suggest? Do I need to provide more info? I dont want to hear "better off buying a new car" I live in a family of new car elitists and that takes the joy out of building something that's your own. I have another car, this is my first car and I really want to work on her.
Old 07-30-2018, 06:43 PM
08'MustangDude
Banned

The 23V Coyote will fit, they began putting them into the S197 chassis in 2011.

2013 was the aluminum block Coyote, but 2013 is still S197 Chassis.