New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New (to me) Mustang in the stable...

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2019, 06:39 PM
ZenDragon

Cool New (to me) Mustang in the stable...

Hey people,
As you probably can tell, I'm a noob on this site...
Because....

I just picked up a 2004 3.9l Mustang. 40th badging, hood scoop and trunk fin. Pretty clean, no dents, a few minor blems that are to be expected for a 15 year old rig... 105,700 K on the odo..
Paid just under 4k.

This is the first Mustang I have owned. I'm a Ford guy. We have an F150 and an 85 Full Size Bronco.

Things I know and can tell have been done:
Radiator Fluid/Flush - Forced dealer to look at. We bought and took home checked fluid next day and it was sludge, milky oily mess. Took back to dealer thinking it was head gasket or worse a cracked block. They flushed once, drove 20 miles and tested, no signs of exhaust gases. Flushed a second time to make sure. I've put 100 miles on it (1/12/10) and going to check the fluid for signs of oil again.
Fresh Air-filter (done by dealer)
Engine oil & filter change (done by dealer)

Gauges were acting funny - There was a delay after starting the car. No gauges or dash lights for 5-10 seconds. It also didn't seem like the O/D was workings. No O/D Off light when i hit the button and I didn't feel a shift. so I tested the battery. 12.6v. Checked with car running 14ish.
Tested to see if the Alt diode was good. 0 when tested. Hooked up my BT OBD/II reader and no error codes. numbers look normal from what I can tell... So I look at the fuses... Something didn't look right. Took me a bit to orient myself with the OEM pocket manual and looking upside down (There has to be a better spot to put that engineers...)
No fuse in #5 - Indicator lights and Traction control.... completely missing.
I stick a 15 in there and turn the key....