Oil and Oil Related Topics A place to post your oil related questions and comments

oil change for a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2010, 10:15 PM
02stangridin
2nd Gear Member

Default oil change for a newbie

I just bought an 02 mustang gt wednesday and im going to change the oil in it tomorrow. The service engine soon light came on today and I checked the oil and it was low. I added a quart of oil but it was still on. The car has 65k miles and the guy I bought it from has barely drove it in the last few months. He told me that he did use full synthetic every change since he has had it. My question is what is the best oil and filter to get? I was thinking to get motorcraft from walmart but I don't know exactly what to get. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm pretty sure I use 5 quarts as well right? I have been driving trucks so I am new to changing the oil in a mustang so any help is great. Thanks in advance!
Old 09-02-2010, 11:02 PM
Unleashedbeast
4th Gear Member

Well, if you are looking for the best...look no further than AMSOIL. You can't buy it over the counter, but if you are willing to wait 2 days tops to receive the product, you will have the best oil money can buy.

I highly recommend the SSO 0W-30 for your 4.6L engine. AMSOIL even lists it as the best choice for your car. The Ea011 oil filter is the absolute best you can buy as well. You can even run this for the full year, or up to 25,000 miles *whichever occur first*.

You can settle for an average lubricant from the parts store, but you may want to read other threads in this section before making a decision. Allow me to suggest some reading to help you on your way.

Also, your engine requires 6 quarts.

Synthetic oil

Increased oil weight, and MPG improved, Possible?

Last edited by Unleashedbeast; 09-12-2010 at 02:23 PM.
Old 09-03-2010, 09:15 AM
DreamerGT
5th Gear Member