Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

I am still learning, IAT, pulley, and MAf Questions

Old 07-23-2008, 07:52 PM
dkaar
1st Gear Member

Default I am still learning, IAT, pulley, and MAf Questions

I have been studying up on the Vortech Supercharger info and am trying to figure out something. I have read the IAT is built into the MAF on the Mustangs and that you need to get an external IAT when putting on the Vortech. My01 Saleen has a BBK intake on it with a 6 pin plug on the MAF (though only the middle 4 wires are there) and a 2 pin plug hooked up to an external IAT sensor next to it. Question is, do I need to put a different IAT in, extend the existing one, or am I good with what I have when putting on a Vortech?

Next on to the MAF. How big is the stock MAF and what is the real world difference in spending $100 on a lightning one, or do I have to go with the lightning one no matter what?

Since I have an 01 Saleen, do I have to replace the Saleen pullies with the stock GT ones to get the Vortech setup to work or can I leave whats on there and get a different size belt? If I can get a different size belt, anyone know what that would be?

Are the NGK TR6 plugs the way to go and what is the correct gapping of them?

Thank you
Old 07-24-2008, 12:11 AM
trublmaker
1st Gear Member

Default RE: I am still learning, IAT, pulley, and MAf Questions