Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

Intercooler

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2009, 02:57 PM
lilcrate
4th Gear Member

Default Intercooler

I am almost ready to intercool my V2. Does anyone know the best setup? I have zero knowledge on the differences and could not find much searching. The one my tuner mentioned (didn't really suggest anything) was the one from vortech, which I think is an aftercooler (could be wrong). Can anyone provide some info on advantages/disadvantages of different types or brands. Also if there are any other blower mods I should get while I'm at it.
Old 12-18-2009, 03:14 PM
mustang51js
3rd Gear Member

the one i have is an air to air from cx racing, its an ebay one, but i have no problems with it,the highest my intake temps are is 86 degrees.I think the air to air is better and you dont need to add ice to it.The hardest thing putting it on was cutting the front bumper support a little so it doesnt hang down to far.As far as anything else you will need,what do you have now with it.I had to get a aic relocator,i got a smaller pulley and the powerpipe which inturn had to get a bigger blow off valve, i aslo bought a 90mm lightning maf and it was to small so i went with the sct90mm big air maf.
Old 12-18-2009, 03:27 PM
lilcrate
4th Gear Member

I don't really have anything as far as upgrades at this point. It is draw through, BOV is only for blow through correct? I could use a power pipe or smaller pulley, not sure what aic relocator is. Was the intercooler easy to install other than cutting the bumper support?
Old 12-18-2009, 05:49 PM
luckythirteen13
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by lilcrate
I don't really have anything as far as upgrades at this point. It is draw through, BOV is only for blow through correct? I could use a power pipe or smaller pulley, not sure what aic relocator is. Was the intercooler easy to install other than cutting the bumper support?