Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

still havent decided on sway bars

Old 04-30-2009, 11:27 AM
mykim72
2nd Gear Member

Default still havent decided on sway bars

So ive been wanting sway bars for a long time but for some reason couldnt pull the trigger.

I dont know if anything would make it feel like my 94 rx7 or 350z and ultimately this is how i would like to make the car feel, but i dont think switching to an independant rear suspension is a possibility. i dont track the car but i am an enthusiastic driver on twisty roads.

Currently i have steeda hd strut mounts (not installed) pro kit and d specs. The d specs ive left it at 5 turns down in the front and 4 in the back from full hard.

Do i want sway bars? a watts link? what would make the car feel more like IRS? Thanks
Old 04-30-2009, 02:31 PM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Can you put your finger on what you think makes those other cars feel the way they do? Same for the S197 and the the way it does the same things. Now, compare the impressions.

Mostly, I'm asking for an evaluation of subjective feel here, NOT a collection of mechanical differences that you think might be the reason. Tear up that mental parts list you have and throw it away. Forget that Steeda/Saleen/MM or any of the others ever existed.

Now, what part(s) of what sort of handling situations are affected the most? Try to think of as many things as possible.

Norm

Last edited by Norm Peterson; 04-30-2009 at 02:39 PM.
Old 04-30-2009, 04:27 PM
jahudso2
4th Gear Member

Try stiffening up your dampers. For sporty driving, I set my fronts at 1.5 and my rears at .5 turns. It makes the car very neutral and eliminates a lot of body roll, nose dive, and squat.
Old 04-30-2009, 06:08 PM
mykim72
2nd Gear Member