Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Spring rates for 2011 GT Brembo brake Package

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2010, 06:50 PM
lawman1
1st Gear Member

Default Spring rates for 2011 GT Brembo brake Package

I have some experience modifying Mustangs and on my 2006 i went with Steeda Sport Springs and Toico D-Spec, The ride was extremely harsh here on the HORRIBLE roads of L.A. Had to go back to stock because it hurt my back. Now I'm relying on hope over experience because I want to lower my 2011 as it looks like a 4 wheeler. Can Anybody tell me what my stock spring rates are and what lowering spring I can go to that will be as close to stock as possible. Steeda Ultralites maybe. I know SAM recommends the Steeda Sports and Konis , but to me a similar setup was really harsh. He has indicatd he has the "right" Steeda Sport Springs. I need some quantitative data on Springs to make this decision. Sam I'm a potential customer, but if someody else can answer my question I'd appreciate it.
Old 09-28-2010, 07:44 PM
Sleeper_08
4th Gear Member

My 08 has Steeda Competition springs and is used as both a DD and for track days. The first 2 1/2 seasons I ran Tokico D-Specs and then half way through this season switched to Koni Yellows (adjustables).

The main thing I can say about the Koni's is that they are significantly less "harsh" even though they are set to nearly full hard and on the street my Tokico's were set to nearly full soft.

Since the installing the Koni's I'm much happier driving the car as a DD and some of our roads in Toronto are pretty bad. On the track they are also great.
Old 09-28-2010, 08:12 PM
908ssp
3rd Gear Member

OEM GT ................L ...............165............L................... .142
05-09

OEM GT Vert...........L ...............144................L............... 122
05-09

OEM GT ................? ...............?................?................. .....?