Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Suspension for a Daily Driver.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 07:38 PM
dipsetwarrior
1st Gear Member

Red face Suspension for a Daily Driver.

Hello, First of all I wanted to say I am a complete noob when it comes to suspension.
I live in New Jersey and the roads are sometimes very bumpy and full of potholes. I own a 2010 Mustang GT and it drives great, the suspension feels very nice on the stock 17". Now my question is I wanted to lower my car because In a couple of months I will be purchasing some 18" wheels and I have always loved the appearance of a lowered car.

This is a Daily driver, My car has 25,000 miles. Can i Just buy springs and use them with the stock shocks and struts? I know this question has been asked before, but I am left unclear whether I need to purchase struts or shocks, or both to have a smooth ride?

With that being said. Can you guys recommend me a suspension setup for a daily driver?

Springs
Shocks
Struts

and whatever else is needed, my initial spending limit not including labor is $1K.

This is not for use in the track or for racing, strictly for daily driving, appearance, and comfort. Links are greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help guys.
Old 12-01-2010, 08:44 PM
Mikado463
2nd Gear Member

I'm putting the Ford Racing K - Springs on mine this coming Fri and as others before me, I expect to be satisfied ! I'll report back after it's complete, expected drop is 1.5 inches. While mine is not a daily driver I see no reason why it couldn't be with this simple 'mod'
Old 12-02-2010, 10:42 AM
jayel579
2nd Gear Member

Shocks should be done with lowering springs. That said Koni STR.T's and Steeda springs will probably be your best option and I think could be had for your price range. Call Sam Strano

www.stranoparts.com
Old 12-02-2010, 12:07 PM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

Do you have to do springs AND dampers together - No.