Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

What would 'Step 2' be for a leaky axle?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 11:16 PM
DPE
2nd Gear Member

Default What would 'Step 2' be for a leaky axle?

Took my 2010 GT to the road course back in April. I'm an experienced driver, but didn't get to crazy as it was my first time out in this particular car. Had fun, got home, and noted fluid around the rear diff. Apparently a known problem, it leaks from that little pressure relief metal cap thing on top of the axle on the passenger side.

So I did a little research and the TSB-related fix is the little turkey-baster looking deal to replace the metal spring cap. Did so. Have sadly not been back to the track since, but did install Konis a few nights ago and had to test them out. We suddenly have several roundabouts here right by my house, so needless to say I experimented with the balance and breakaway characteristics of the car with the new shocks late in the evening when no one was around.

Just noticed tonight that once again, my axle has the drips. All on one side; the right side of course given I took a few laps in the roundabouts (which turn left). Clearly it came out of the plastic valve atop the turkey baster, as you could see where it ran down the side of it.

So I guess the question is, what's next? Do I need to make a catch-can? Could it be my diff was a bit overfilled from the factory and eventually I'll purge the excess out without harming anything? I did check the level cold after the issues on track, and it was within a couple mm of the filler hole so I didn't add any. May need to check again I suppose.