MustangForums.com

MustangForums.com (https://mustangforums.com/forum/index.php)
-   S197 Handling Section (https://mustangforums.com/forum/s197-handling-section-121/)
-   -   Does camber change affect toe setting? (https://mustangforums.com/forum/s197-handling-section/699065-does-camber-change-affect-toe-setting.html)

kenz 08-01-2013 06:54 PM

Does camber change affect toe setting?

I'm still learning all of this suspenson stuff and I think I know what each is, camber, caster, toe.

But I'm not real sure on the relationship between them, if any.

For example, if you were to reduce the camber from say -1.5 to -1.0, would that change the toe? If so, in which direction, narrower or wider? Any way to determine how much?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

:-)

Ken

C. Love 08-04-2013 09:09 PM

Basically you mess with any setting (camber, caster, toe) it will generally knock the others out of spec. So you will need to remeasure to ensure all setting are still true or take it to a shop to get a new alignment

Norm Peterson 08-06-2013 03:20 PM

Originally Posted by kenz (Post 8258573)
For example, if you were to reduce the camber from say -1.5 to -1.0, would that change the toe?

Yes.

If so, in which direction, narrower or wider?
It depends on where you make your adjustment. If you move the strut top (outward) or make your adjustments at the upper strut to knuckle bolts. the toe will shift inward. If you make adjustments at the lower strut to knuckle bolts, your toe will shift outward.

Any way to determine how much?
I suppose it could be calculated geometrically, but I've never bothered. How much will depend on where you're making your adjustment.

Norm

kenz 08-09-2013 07:16 PM

Mostly this is a theoretical question.

I've read where people would adjust their camber for different situations, track, street, etc, with camber plates. And I guess you can buy camber measuring tools and they're easy to use.

I was wondering what people did about toe setting, if anything.