Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

A question about brakes

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2013, 01:27 PM
Fader
1st Gear Member

Question A question about brakes

Please pardon my ignorance, but I'm just not a mechanic or car expert. I have a couple of questions about upgrading the brakes on my 05 GT.

1. Brake discs- Slotted vs. drilled vs. both. I know it's important to have vented discs, especially on the front, but is there a performance difference with slotted/drilled discs? Any specific concerns to be aware of?

The bottom line for me is that I want to upgrade my brakes, but don't want to dump thousands of dollars into a package. Is there a lower-cost alternative that will improve performance and appearance without breaking the bank?

Thanks, in advance, for the opinions!
Old 08-18-2013, 03:07 PM
427Roush
1st Gear Member

Drilled/slotted rotors are fine for daily driving if all you want is looks. Do they actually give you any cooling advantage in daily driving? I don't think so. Where they actually make a difference is if you are road racing or driving your car in a way that has a lot of intense braking. Auto crossing sessions are too short for these brakes to really make a difference.
Road racing is very hard on your brakes because you are on and off them so much that the rotors and calipers don't have enough time to properly cool down. This is why I went to a bigger 14" rotor. More rotor surface means more area for the heat to dissipate.
It's not so much the braking power they gain as much as the advantage of heat dissipation. When brakes heat up, brake fade ensues and when you're trying to negotiate a 90' corner at speed, brake fade is the last thing you want.