Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Camber for track days and time trial

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2013, 04:36 PM
todcp
1st Gear Member

Default Camber for track days and time trial

I am new to the Mustang world having just acquired a 2014 base GT with TrackPack. Love the car and find the motor intoxicating. But the handling leaves a lot of room for improvement.
I have read getting the camber to -3, or as close as possible, is best for my 2014 Gt on a road race course (street closer to -1). However I am also told that with the Steeda Boss 302 springs I was planning the max camber will be -1.6 to -2.1 range limited by the width of the springs creating clearance issues.
Is this camber good enough for track use or should I go with the Ground Control coil over setup to allow room for greater negative camber?
I could care less about lowering for the look or for making the car level front to rear. Only issue is the best on track performance without spending a fortune. So shocks and springs, camber plates and probably a Fays2. Then see how it does regarding the need for different sway bars. I bought GT500 wheels for track tires.

I plan on five to eight track days per season. Car is not a DD. Just a fun car like my prior S2000. I am a former track day instructor and SCCA FF driver.

Tod
Old 11-26-2013, 04:57 PM
ModBargains
Former Sponsor

It's good to see another road racer here on the forums. I'm doing the same thing with my 5.0, trying to get the right specs down, so I've been chatting with a few companies we work with that have actual race cars that are competitive in several series, to see what they suggest, to see what they run.