Saleen, Roush and Boss Mustangs Discussions on Saleen, Roush, and late model Shinoda Boss Models within. SVT models, check the 4.6L section.

Modifications? What kind?

Old 03-21-2005, 06:33 PM
Obselite
3rd Gear Member

Default Modifications? What kind?

Hi all! I'm new to the whole mustang scene. In August I bought a 99 gt. I wanted to send it into Saleen, but being that i'm only 16, I didn't have the money for it yet. So, instead, I bought the body kit/rims/etc; and now it looks exactly like it went to Saleen. I figure that it's now time for phase 2 of the operation.

I'm looking to get up to about 600 hp. I heard the GT can handle about 500 without replacing the back end...so I will just get up to about 480 for now. I want to get a blower (most likely a procharger with intercooler) but I want to upgrade the engine so I can have as much "all hp from engine" as possible. What are the first crucial things I should do in order to maximize power without breaking my piggy bank (more than 1500). I heard that cam and some heads would be a good first step. But-- what about plenums/throttlebody/bore and storked, etc. I plan to run my Procharger at about 16-22 psi when i get it. Any info is greatly appreciated.

My car is a 99 gt with power everything...jvc cd player and a 15 audiobahn 2200 peak in the back. It doesnt have any engine mods cept for a full flowmaster American Thunger exhaust....it has 30,000 miles.
Old 03-21-2005, 08:35 PM
smed
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Modifications? What kind?

good luck running 22 psi though your stock engine, save some more money when you blow your engine
Old 03-21-2005, 10:34 PM
Obselite
3rd Gear Member

Apparently you missread the post. For one, I said that "info is greatly appreciated...." not bull****.
First timer with a stang? Cuz 22 wont blow your engine if you have the proper modifications. AKA forged internals/bored and stroked/etc.