I wanna go carb'd - Page 2 - MustangForums.com

Notices
Speed Density/Carb/SSP section This section is for the Speed Density or Carb vehicles, as well as Special Service Package 'Stangs

I wanna go carb'd

Reply

 
 
 
Old 07-27-2009, 10:06 PM
  #11  
1988TTOP
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 1,556
Default

u need a roller cam not a flat tappet cam
1988TTOP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 10:14 PM
  #12  
JayBanion
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
JayBanion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Harleysville PA
Posts: 956
Default

oh $hit your right. That never even came to mind, didnt look close enough. So what do you guys think of the Holley 670? And what would be the best intake?
JayBanion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 07:56 PM
  #13  
JayBanion
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
JayBanion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Harleysville PA
Posts: 956
Default

How hard will this be to remove the computer harness. Is it difficult to seperate it from the chassis harness? I have pretty much everything else removed as far as the motor goes, acessories all that. So now Im at the harness part
JayBanion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:03 PM
  #14  
1988TTOP
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 1,556
Default

easy they engine harness and the body harness are 2 different harness
1988TTOP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:31 PM
  #15  
JayBanion
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
JayBanion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Harleysville PA
Posts: 956
Default

Dont they link together in a few places. And how do I then go about getting my stock gauges to work?
JayBanion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:37 PM
  #16  
1988TTOP
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 1,556
Default

my bad they do for the drivers side by the firewall and the gauges i will have to look to see what colors they r
1988TTOP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 09:54 PM
  #17  
SonicBlueFiveSlow
3rd Gear Member
 
SonicBlueFiveSlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 650
Default

Underneath the brake booster there's 2 round connectors, a grey one and a black one. That's where the computer harness meets the chassis harness, disconnect them and pull the main harness out, getting the computer connector through the hole in the firewall can be a bit tricky but just work it and it will eventually come out.

As far as the stock gauges, your connections will be made underneath the booster at the 2 connectors I mentioned above. To get the stock tach to work, on the grey connector, tap into the dark green wire with the yellow trace. On the black connector harness, tap into the red wire with the white trace to get your water temp gauge to work and on the same black harness, tap into the white wire with the red trace to get your oil pressure gauge to work. The stock fuel gauge and volt gauges will still work.


Make sense?
SonicBlueFiveSlow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:12 PM
  #18  
JayBanion
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
JayBanion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Harleysville PA
Posts: 956
Default

Lets say for the tach, by tap into the wire you mean just splice the two together from both sides of the connector?
JayBanion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:44 PM
  #19  
1988TTOP
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nw ohio
Posts: 1,556
Default

the green wire with yellow trace u splice that wire any put it on the coil
1988TTOP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:16 PM
  #20  
SonicBlueFiveSlow
3rd Gear Member
 
SonicBlueFiveSlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 650
Default

Originally Posted by JayBanion View Post
Lets say for the tach, by tap into the wire you mean just splice the two together from both sides of the connector?

No, splice your wire going to the negative side of the coil or the tach out on your ignition/distributor or whatever your setup is to the wire going into the connector underneath the booster. For my car, I just snipped the wire a couple inches before the connector and soldered in my wire that goes to the tach port on my distributor.
SonicBlueFiveSlow is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: I wanna go carb'd


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.