Speed Density/Carb/SSP section This section is for the Speed Density or Carb vehicles, as well as Special Service Package 'Stangs

Need advice to put some more HP down

Old 04-26-2012, 04:16 PM
1fast Lorinser

Default Need advice to put some more HP down

Ok so im new to modding mustangs so my question is what should I start looking into to start putting down some more HP numbers out of my 1993 mustang 5.0
When I bought the car it was basically a closed can so from what I can see it has a CAI and exhaust with upgraded shorty headers and only magnaflow mufflers and no cats. The injectors have been upgraded but im not sure exactly which ones they are but the only thing I can say is there yellow lol, and also the fuel pump has been upgraded because when it primes its so loud and iv owned stock 5.0's back in the day and they didnt sound like this. How can I identify the fuel injectors if not I will take pictures for you guys. Its not that fast either from what I can remember from my last 5.0. Any help or advice is appreciated.
Old 04-27-2012, 01:57 PM
Venomantidote95
4th Gear Member

Well the yellow or amber colored injectors are stock 19`s if its a ford injector, that pump may be about to take a dump, a loud whining pump isnt always a sign of a bigger pump! complete the exaust first with an aftermarket midpipe if its a hacked up stock piece!
Old 04-28-2012, 12:55 PM
1fast Lorinser

Talking

Well the exhaust is good it's not all hacked up with stock pipeing it's all fairly new about 2 1/2 pipeing with BBK shorty headers. The fuel injectors are probably stock then, I thought yellow was upgraded ones because they were for my previous corvette. The fuel pump is not going bad because I told my mechanic to check it out and he said its upgraded so I'm good on that. So what are some not to expensive things I can do to improve the hp because right now it's pretty sluggish. By the way it's a 5speed
Old 04-29-2012, 11:04 AM
Venomantidote95
4th Gear Member