SVT Forums

Aftermarket Exhaust Drone Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 02:15 PM
NC97Cobra

Default Aftermarket Exhaust Drone Question

Hey guys, im new to these forums so ill keep this short and sweet.

I have a 97 Cobra with Flowmaster 40s mufflers. Might be a catback, but i know for a fact it has those mufflers.

I have a 99 GT with a flowmaster catback and it is much louder (so im told) and the drone inside the car at highway speeds (65-80mph) is killer.

Now to my question:

Does anyone here have an exhaust set-up that is mean/throaty/aggressive while still being relatively quiet inside the car at highway speeds?

I have been told the flowmasters cause drone inside, which i believe, and that the "bullet" style mufflers from SLP and Magnaflow offer a louder sound outside while keeping the drone down inside the car. Is there any truth to that? Thanks for any incite you can offer.
Old 05-15-2013, 02:52 PM
slipperman
1st Gear Member

I just installed a Steeda cat-back on my '04 GT and love it!

I chose this as one of the most mild aftermarket exhausts I could find (in stainless).

Just a bit more burble at idle, very mild at highway speeds and excellent roar when you lay into it.
Old 05-15-2013, 02:57 PM
xx10Gt
4th Gear Member

borla atak will SCREAM when at 50% or more throttle. 20-50% throttle gives it a very loud agressive note. anything less is definitly still noticible but mellows out especially at highway speeds and i havent had too many issues with drone.

Slp loudmouths are pretty good too
Old 05-16-2013, 05:59 AM
Sonic Mustang
Banned

My SLP LoudMouth (original version - now called LM1?) catback exhaust does not drone. I love the way it sounds on my 32V DOHC.
Old 05-17-2013, 06:03 PM
NC97Cobra

I was leaning towards the SLP or the Magnapacks....I want to wait until Mustang Week and see if I can get a catback and/or midpipe for a good price. We will see what happens.
Old 05-17-2013, 07:36 PM
Sonic Mustang
Banned

Originally Posted by NC97Cobra