6R80 to mt82 swap - MustangForums.com


The New S550 2015-2017 Mustang Discussions on the newest generation of the Ford Mustang.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2017, 08:25 PM   #1
Csa0890
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ok
Posts: 4
Default 6R80 to mt82 swap

I have a 2017 ecoboost automatic and would like to find someone that is wanting to swap transmissions.
Csa0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 10:19 PM   #2
fourdegrees11
1st Gear Member
 
fourdegrees11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: AZ
Posts: 109
Default

Might be more cost effective to trade your whole car for a manual version...
fourdegrees11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:19 AM   #3
imp
2nd Gear Member
 
imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: AZ
Posts: 301
Default

Jeez! I'm so far behind the times, I don't even know WTH you guys are talking about, except maybe it's transmissions?? imp
imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 07:37 AM   #4
Csa0890
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ok
Posts: 4
Default

Considering about the only cost would be shipping, no it would not be more cost effective...
Csa0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 02:55 PM   #5
Derf00
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 11,017
Default

You'd also have to swap PCMs, pedal boxes, shifter mechanisms, supporting hardware and possibly even wiring harneses unless you can find a shop willing to provide that level of programming for the PCM.

Newer Autos are all electronic so to simply swap the tranny also involves turning off all the auto routines in the PCM (most shops can't or won't do that).

Ford will only program a PCM to match the car's VIN. If you try to have them program your Auto PCM to a manual version they won't do it because your VIN number shows it was programmed from the factory as an Auto so the only programs available to them for your car VIN are auto programs.

So while there's explicit cost as in $ there's also implied cost of time and energy in performing the swap and figuring out all the potential and real problems of the swap.

I've you've got all that other stuff already figured out or have the time and resources, then yeah, it might be cost effective for you.
Derf00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:31 PM   #6
Csa0890
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ok
Posts: 4
Default

Yeah im aware of whats involved. This isnt my first rodeo. Also if you swap entire ecus there is no need in programming anything except maybe axle ratios.
Transmission
ecu
Wiring harness
Pedals
Master cylinder
Clutch lines
Flywheel
pressure plate
flexplate
Slave cylinder
Csa0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 08:34 PM   #7
Csa0890
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Ok
Posts: 4
Default

And shifter assembly and gauge cluster.
Csa0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.