Notices
S550 2015-2023 Mustang Discussions on the S550 2015 - 2022 Ford Mustang.

ecoboost

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2018, 09:14 PM
jem00021

Default ecoboost

Hello, I'm new to this forum, I have never owned a mustang, but have always liked them, my favorite has been the 67, now my favorite is the new current mustangs, they look awesome, I have been saving my money to buy one for the last 3 years, I was planning to get the ecoboost, so last weekend I test drove a 2017 ecoboost, and I couldn't believe how loud it was in the car, had the windows up, and was only doing 20 t0 25 mph thru a residental neighborhood, and everytime I hit the gas, it was just loud, you see, I'm deaf and wear a hearing aid, so not completely deaf, but hard of hearing, and road/engine noise makes it very hard for me to communicate with my friends while I'm driving, so after the test drive, I was so disappointed and upset with how loud the ecoboost was, a few days later after the test drive, I found out about how there's a fake audio engine sound that comes out of the speakers, and that by pulling fuse #27 out, it will deactivate the fake engine noise, was wondering if anybody has done this? did it make a difference?, did it get quieter in the car with the windows up?, I also learned that Ford installs something called sound tube in the GT models, channeling engine noise to the fire wall and into the cab thru the tube to make it louder in the cab, was wondering if any body could tell me if there is a sound tube or not on ecoboost model?, I'm also seeking any suggestions and ideas how to make the interior quieter, so I can still get a ecoboost, otherwise I'm gonna have to go test drive a V6 and see if it's quieter than the ecoboost, but I much rather have the ecoboost, turbo4 are definitley fun to drive, not looking to get a GT because I don't need that much power and the terrible gas mileage, lol
thank you for any inputs, info, ideas and suggestion

Originally Posted by jem00021