Notices
S550 2015-2023 Mustang Discussions on the S550 2015 - 2022 Ford Mustang.

Suspension Mods to improve cornering w/o lowering

Old 07-31-2016, 12:03 PM
jwg45acp

Default Suspension Mods to improve cornering w/o lowering

Guys. Total newbie here. I'm looking to improve the cornering/handling prowess of my mustang without rupturing a kidney and I do not want to lower it.

I bought a 2015 GT premium automatic and installed a ford racing strut tower brace. I thought I might try the sway bars from the track pack and perhaps the koni shocks/struts. Do you guys have any other ideas about suspension mods that don't lower the body? I plan on summer only tires next spring.

I was really ready to drop the hammer on the track handling package but I live out in the sticks and even a 1" drop might mean scraping on some of the roads I occasionally have to venture down? So far, I've not scraped and I'm just reluctant to drop it.

I will never see a track, so my car is a daily driver and road trip machine, but I've always appreciated cars that can stick to the road and stay planted etc.
Old 08-01-2016, 08:05 AM
proeagles
4th Gear Member

Your car already handles very good just as it is. If it "rolls" too much for you then stiffer sway bars would make it corner flatter. Otherwise there is not going to much you can do without lowering the car. Tip: attend some HPDEs with good instructors and really learn how to drive a car before you decide your car can't keep up with you. You'd be surprised to learn how good your car really is.
Old 08-01-2016, 01:07 PM
ucinn
3rd Gear Member

The summer only tires will help a lot. Mine isn't lowered and I put 8.5 and 10 rear Nitto Invos and it handles so much better now than the stock 17" all season tires that were on it. I would go the tire route first before doing anything else and see what you think.
Old 08-01-2016, 01:11 PM
proeagles
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by ucinn