Tuner Central Have a question about which hand tuner is best for your Mustang? Talk about it here!

Do-it-yourself Lopey Cam Tune?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2017, 04:46 PM
Black__Betty

Post Do-it-yourself Lopey Cam Tune?

I've got a 2015 GT. I'm trying to make it sound like this:
. I'm new to the tuning side of things, so I need some advice.

From what I've found there are a couple companies that make "ghost/lope cam" tunes that change the timing to sound like what I'm looking for. But each of those require you to remove the catalytic converters. Is there any way I can achieve the sound without removing them completely? I need them to pass emissions in my state (GA).

Would a similar setup to the one you recommended below work? This was for a Corvette, but you'll get an idea of what he recommended.
They beauty of modern muscle is how strong yet streetable you can make these cars...

You can get a 3000+ stall and hardly ever know it is there until you hit the gas..

What you are looking for is a 3000 stall with a 2.0-2.5 STR with lock up.
What that lock up does for you, is after first gear the tq converter "locks up" and drives just like a stock converter, the only slip you will feel is minor and only in 1st gear, all the rest will feel just as tight as stock, however when you hit the gas you will feel a night and day difference, your rpms will jump strait into your TQ band and bury you in your seat like a 10 story roller coaster.

I am not a Fan of the "hotcam" there are many other cams out there that are just as tame but make better power...

If I were setting it up for you I would be looking for a cam around....

221/221 @.050 540/540 lift on a comp cams xe-r lobe and 112 LSA It will gurgle nicely, retain a very even idle, and make gobs of midrange power .

the converter I posted above will compliment it nicely
the LG headers you have choosen will allow the cam to breath