V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

HELP***Error codes P0171 & P0174

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2007, 12:11 AM
bonsaicult

Default HELP***Error codes P0171 & P0174

I searched the forums for these codes and found nothing....
OK, So i'm a newbie at MF, just bought a 95 v6, test drove it, ran great, car sat in storage for 2 years,
when I went to pick it up, wouldn't run for s***. Fuel gauge reads nearly empty, and my friend says the
exhaust smells like that Stabil stuff, (he claims that because his friends car's exhaust has the same smell and
he uses Stabil). OK OK, dump in 3 gals of premium, car starts to run better, limp it over to the gas station
and fill it with premium to help clean it out, within a few miles notice the MIL check engine lamp on, still not running that great. Scan the ecu, P0171 & P0174 codes set, air/fuel too lean, system at rich limit.
Disconnect the battery, resets OK, drive to work about 25 miles, running great, no codes. Leave work
and by the time it goes into closed loop sets error code, rescan, yep, P0171 & P0174 again.
I stop by the library and grab the dealer service manual and start to troubleshoot for the codes per the
pinpoint tests, HOWEVER, there is a BOLD FACE NOTE: Before servicing DTC'S P0171,P0172,P0174 and P0175 verify with the customer that before the "Check Engine Light" came on, the vehicle did not run out of fuel.
Hmmmm, This looks rather obvious, however I can't find anywhere in the text what the hell to do
in the event that the vehicle did in fact run out of fuel!
Has anyone had this occur?
What do I do now?
Car runs and drives ok at partial throttle and idle, but full throttle acceleration is inconsistant,
has nowhere near the power it does under 1/2 throttle acceleration.
Any help would be greatly appreciated,
This is my 1st pony car, always wanted one, was in the market for a car when I found this gem,