V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Which oil? GTX, GTX high milage or syntec?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2007, 12:46 AM
nitrous36
3rd Gear Member

Default Which oil? GTX, GTX high milage or syntec?

My car has 93k and some odd miles now. Should I continue running GTX or switch to GTX high milage? I change the oil every 3k milesso wouldit really matter or make a diff?

Also I have ablower now. So should I considerusing syntheticor will the dyno oil hold up just fine with the regular 3k mile change intervals. Im just scared that swithcing to a syn this late will hurt the seals and remove to much of the old oil that helps the seals and hurt the motor or clog the pick up in the pan. Will dyno oil be just fine so long as I stick to the regular3k changeroutine?
Old 08-19-2007, 06:06 AM
mustangrich
1st Gear Member

Default RE: GTX or GTX high milage?

I'm a self-proclaimed newbie so take my input with a bag of salt.

I worked at a VW and Mercedes dealership for about a year and had switched to using Castrol Syntec in my Mustang at 40k miles about a year or so before. The Mercedes only take Mobil 1 past a certain year and the VW's used Castrol Syntec. I learned from the VW guys that Syntec is not really synthetic oil...something to do with it not really having any actual synthetic base stocks. The Benz guys wouldn't put anything in anything that wasn't Mobil 1. The guys all sang the praises of synthetic oil. I went from Syntec to Mobil 1, though I can't honestly say I noticed any difference. There are a lot of articles that talk about synthetic vs. regular oil.