V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

STANG MAKES NOISE WHEN TURNING...

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2011, 04:43 PM
3.0Taurass
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by my99needsFixin
I feel more and more that it is just my power steering pump going out. The way I see it...if at IDOL, I turn my wheel left/right and its producing the same terrible noise then that eliminates any chance it can come from a suspension problem, brakes as well. Leaving pretty much only the power steering pump to blame....but hey, im no mechanic. Anyone else agree? Please, Feedback.
I still say tie rod end is a possibility. My Taurus was making terrible noises when turning the wheels. Replaced that, no more noise.
Old 04-06-2011, 11:26 PM
my99needsFixin

Alrite guys....

Finally had some time today, and good weather. My buddy and I were able to put in a new power steering pump. It was acutally a rebuilt one I bought at my local auto parts store. Was a good price, $50. Of course bought some new power steering fluid as well. Got it back to the garage and got that baby in with no problems.

After the install was complete I of course did some test driving. After roughly 15 miles of driving I found that the noise was not completly gone. It's no question considerably quieter then the original pump I had on previously, but still not dead quiet. Like I said, Ive only drivin it about 15 miles since the new pump, any chance the remaining noise will subside with more driving? Basically, Im asking if new power steering pumps need broke in any?

Thanks as always guys.
Old 04-07-2011, 07:23 AM
mustangman02232
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by my99needsFixin
Alrite guys....