V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Run super rich and misfiring in cyl 6 please help

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2013, 02:09 PM
Mustanggirl23

Post Run super rich and misfiring in cyl 6 please help

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting in this forum. I bought a 94 ford mustang 3.8L about 2 weeks ago. When I bought it, it was blowing white smoke and smelled so bad of raw fuel. It was dumping out of the exhaust. So automatically I knew it was a head gasket. I took the heads in and had them pressure tested and shaved. Picked up my gasket kit and head bolts. I put the car all back together hoping it would be fixed. Well, it's not. It's still dumping raw fuel and misfiring. I ran the codes and pulled the P0306 which is cylinder 6 misfire. I completed the compression test and all compression is good for all cylinders. So I went back through checking vacuum lines and everything looks good. It has new plugs and wires. I have done a lot of research and there are so many different things that people are saying could be wrong. I'm hoping someone has had this same problem an can shed some light on what avenue to pursue next.
Old 08-26-2013, 02:48 PM
dawson1112
5th Gear Member

It sounds like a fuel injector is stuck open or leaking profusely , Scince your getting a code for a misfire on number 6 that is the likely culprit.

Check fuel pressure and see if it holds pressure or if it leaks down quickly.
A leaking injector will continuously flood that cylinder causing a misfire .

I would bet that if you pull the #6 plug it is soaked with fuel.
Old 08-26-2013, 07:23 PM
RyansQuick6
Reverse Gear Member

I'm gonna say coil pack, buy Motorcraft, the other brands cause problems. Head gaskets have nothing to do with unburnt fuel.
Old 08-26-2013, 07:31 PM
jthorn9
The Godfather

I was thinking the same as Ryan, change the coil pack.