V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Buying a $500 1998 3.6L now what?

Old 10-28-2017, 10:53 PM
SouthernPine766

Default Buying a $500 1998 3.6L now what?

Hello there forum, as the title states I'm buying a 1998 automatic stang with the 3.6L engine. My cousin has owned it for over 10 years. She parked it at a relatives house about 2 years ago because it had a "howling" noise from the rear end, and it's been sitting there since. The motor runs when ether is sprayed into it but I believe the fuel pump is gummed up from sitting so long without being properly maintained.
I've worked on a number of vehicles myself, mostly backyard repairs, but I have zero experience with a mustang. When she asked me if I'd buy it for $500 I jumped on it. I know once the fuel system is cleaned and the tank cleaned it will run and drive. Aside from that, what are some crucial things I should know about the 3.6L engine amd Mustangs in general? Does my new stang have a specific model? Any help is appreciated. Also, are there any facebook pages that might be useful?
Old 10-29-2017, 12:09 AM
SouthernPine766

Originally Posted by SouthernPine766
Hello there forum, as the title states I'm buying a 1998 automatic stang with the 3.6L engine. My cousin has owned it for over 10 years. She parked it at a relatives house about 2 years ago because it had a "howling" noise from the rear end, and it's been sitting there since. The motor runs when ether is sprayed into it but I believe the fuel pump is gummed up from sitting so long without being properly maintained.