Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

cold air intake

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2006, 02:48 AM
Yashar
1st Gear Member

Default cold air intake

im REALLY new to cars and all so bare with me here im sorry if i suck

i had a friend who told me something about the cold air intakes something like if you drive them in the rain your engine wil lget water in it someting like that

any truth?
Old 03-30-2006, 02:51 AM
jet22
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: cold air intake

nope, totaly not true lol

the moistrue in the rain actualy increases your compression and gives you more proformance
Old 03-30-2006, 03:12 AM
Yashar
1st Gear Member

oh really sweet (never trust an asian!) hah jk hes like my best friend were just lall noobs noone aroudn here knows anything about cars... im tryting to learn doing the best i can im thinking about isntalling one what kind ?for a v6 and how hard would it be to install
Old 03-30-2006, 03:28 AM
hamidlmt
I ♥ Acer

Some cold air intakes go down into the fenderwell (none that I've seen in our cars). They could potentially get wet from water being kicked up by the tires or driving in deep water. I think that's more of a problem with imports.

An intake is a pretty easy intall... 15 minutes or so.
Old 03-30-2006, 03:58 AM
0to60
2nd Gear Member

The C&L intake is a great product, but it will require that you purchase a handheld computer tuner as well because it pulls in so much air that the air/fuel ratio needs to be adjusted.

There are several companies that offer the cold air intake (CAI) and tuner as a combo for about $550-650 dollars. In my opinion, this is the best mod to make when you're just starting out. The performance gains are very noticeable!

Good luck!
Tim
Old 03-30-2006, 04:12 AM
Yashar
1st Gear Member