Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

cai and tune help

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2006, 04:46 PM
Shipwreck
1st Gear Member

Default cai and tune help

I know this was covered before in the forums,but i am new to this, and just want to make sure I get this right. I want to get a CAI for my 05 V6, and just want to know what are the best brands. Also, when I do get one do I need a tune for it, or will it be allright on it's own. I have talked to many people about this, and have gotten a variety of answers. Granted most of these are people who work on older vehicles. I'm sorry if this has been covered before, but i am still a newbie to all this, and would hate to mess up my Car. Any help or advice at all would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Old 06-21-2006, 04:59 PM
pat6674u
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: cai and tune help

ORIGINAL: Shipwreck

I know this was covered before in the forums,but i am new to this, and just want to make sure I get this right. I want to get a CAI for my 05 V6, and just want to know what are the best brands. Also, when I do get one do I need a tune for it, or will it be allright on it's own. I have talked to many people about this, and have gotten a variety of answers. Granted most of these are people who work on older vehicles. I'm sorry if this has been covered before, but i am still a newbie to all this, and would hate to mess up my Car. Any help or advice at all would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.
Some of the best CAI's that require a tune are the C&L and Demolet and I think JLT??. All are available by numerous vendors. Bamachips has a comprehenisive site and also has tuner/cai combos. If you don't want to tune the car, the MMR, AFE and K&N intakes will do but will not perform as well as those listed above. IMO, just save up and go for the combo because it is the best for the car performance wise.