Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Some questions about my Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2006, 02:47 PM
chuckcsf
2nd Gear Member

Default Some questions about my Mustang

I just got a White 06 Premium Mustang V6 4.0. It is a little Disappointing that my 4.0 only has 210 hp compared to the Eclipse GT 3.8 260 HP. How is this possible? Why did Ford allow this to happen? And why is there a big gap between the V6 Mustang and the V8 powerwise? There's not much difference in the size. I'm kinda new to the world of Mustang and I didn't do my research before I bought mine. I would have gone with a V8 if I knew there was this much of a power difference. Would it cost me less to pay for mods on my v6 to match the power of a V8 than to buy the V8? What are some advatages to the V6 over the V8?
Old 07-19-2006, 02:53 PM
micx7
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Some questions about my Mustang

Advantages: Lower Insurance Payments, Likely fewer speeding tickets, Cheaper.

The GT if a beautiful machine and so is the v6. I found the V6 to be fast enough for me, at this point in my life (20), I don't need to be paying huge payments and laying down rubber in the suburbs. If horsepower is what you crave, you can mod or get a GT if you like. And I know someone else will chime in if I'm wrong but the Eclipse is pretty dissapointing performance wise and posts a pretty hefty weight and poor output. It's not always about the horsepower and torque, it's how its put to use. Hope this helped.
Old 07-19-2006, 02:57 PM
chuckcsf
2nd Gear Member