Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Dual ford Racing kit old question but just making sure

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 10:02 PM
defiance777
2nd Gear Member

Default Dual ford Racing kit old question but just making sure

Hey everybody. This month i will be purchasing the ford racing dual exhaust kit for the v6. Right now I have a single flowmaster AT and ever since I changed it there has been a major increase in power. The only concern with getting the dual ford racing kit is backpressure. I heard before the car wont have enough backpressure with duals on a v6.Also will i gain morepowerwith the ford racing kit. and is this kit true duals.

Heres the webpage for the parts http://www.fordracingparts.com/parts...tKeyField=9910

Thanks for the help everyone.
Old 12-12-2007, 10:47 PM
95cobby
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Dual ford Racing kit old question but just making sure

Yes that is the true dual kit. If you see the instructions listed on that page it will give you a better visual. As for the back pressure, I don't believe it's a problem with the duals.
Old 12-13-2007, 12:48 AM
raubt
4th Gear Member

As is my understanding, exhaust systems (whether they're single or dual) don't give any substantial power gains (like maybe 1-2 hp) if you keep the cats on. Your single Flowmaster axleback keeps the stock cats, so the car didn't get any more powerful. It breathes a little easier with the less restrictive muffler, so it might hesitate a little less when taking off, and you probably picked up about 1 mpg in mileage, but nothing substantial. Same with duals. The Ford Racing X kit keeps the cats, so it also won't show any power gains. The power gain comes from the off-road pipe and exhaust "scavenging," which is something only seen on the V8 engine design.

Placebo effect, maybe, but nothing serious on a dyno.