Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Cold Air and Tuner Advice Please!

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 07:48 PM
jf713jf
2nd Gear Member

Default Cold Air and Tuner Advice Please!

I've never done any performance upgrades before. I've heard that a good starting point is a Cold Air Intake with a tuner. I've been looking on
AmericanMuscle.com and I thing that the a JLT one looks good

http://www.americanmuscle.com/jlt-sct-0509v6-kit.html

It's the combo where you get the SCT SF3 tuner along with it with the ability to get email tunes. I have seen plenty of JLT phrase on various forums, but I was wondering if the tuner included in the combo is good enough. I plan on doing more with my car in the future, maybe including forced intake, so I would rather not have to buy a tuner twice.

If i'm making a mistake buying a JLT, please tell me. It does look good being the cheapest of the combo deals.

Thankyou everyone for your help.
Old 03-03-2009, 08:14 PM
ODDYSEY
Site Moderator of Fury!

I would strongly recommend checking out bamachips.com and not get a canned tune. I think you will be extremely happy with a bama tune.
Old 03-03-2009, 08:17 PM
jf713jf
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by ODDYSEY
I would strongly recommend checking out bamachips.com and not get a canned tune. I think you will be extremely happy with a bama tune.
Are you sure that it's a canned? I thought as long as you could put custom tunes on it wasn't . Im sortof a newbie at this. Let me go and check out that site.
Old 03-03-2009, 08:59 PM
ODDYSEY
Site Moderator of Fury!

Canned tunes are the ones that come with the tuner.
Old 03-03-2009, 09:07 PM
jf713jf
2nd Gear Member

Canned tunes are the ones that come with the tuner.
won't it be better once I get the emailed tunes from SCT?
Old 03-03-2009, 09:10 PM
ODDYSEY
Site Moderator of Fury!