Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

New Driver: V6 Automatic in the Rain

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2010, 02:20 PM
Helix

Default New Driver: V6 Automatic in the Rain

Hey fellas, Im 20 years old just finishing up my second year in college. My parents are willing to get me a v6 auto 2006-2007. Im a pretty responsible driver and do well in school, if I had a job you know id be going for the v8 unfortunately im taking about 20 credits of hard science a semester and have no time for working and class together.

My parents are worried however about the fact that the mustang is a RWD. My dad used to drive a 1969 Pontiac Lemanz back in the day and he said it drove fine if you were careful however they are still worried. He suggested we put a few sandbags in the back to help.

My question is.

I commute bout 25 miles each way to school, in the snow Im going to drive my dads SUV to school which he never uses. For the rain however how safe is a 2007ish v6 auto with ABS/TCS with weight in the back and proper tires and a careful but inexperienced driver? How much different would it be say from a 180hp ford taurus which my bro drives? If you guys could lay the pros and cons out for me that would be greatly appreciated. I searched the threads but most of the info seemed to deal with v8's or manual stangs
Old 08-08-2010, 05:06 PM
X3xMONGOOSEx3X
4th Gear Member

I'm 22 bought the Mustang last summer and drove it all winter with no major issues. First RWD car for me as well. I just threw my 80lbs punching bag in the back didn't have money for snow tires. The only real problem I had was when I parked in a parking lot that was a sheet of ice. I parked the front tires off the ice while the rears were on the ice. Not a smart move. Took me a while with traction control off to get out of there. Remember it's all about how you drive.
Old 08-08-2010, 06:02 PM