Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

All Aluminum Muffler?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2005, 11:55 PM
karlriggs

Default All Aluminum Muffler?

Hey, I have a 2005 V6 Mustang, and looking for a muffler upgrade. I've done a decent amount of research and have tried looking for a decent sounding muffler either dual or single, although single is preferred because I am a High School Student and money just isn't flowing. I originally looked at the Magnaflow Single Axle-Back Muffler because it was cheap, it sounded good, and it's gotten decent reviews / support. But after i talked with numerous people they said an all aluminum muffler would be preferred, since I do very short drives to and from school, meaning more possibilites for rust. With the current muffler i've already developed concerns with rust, so basically I was recommended an all aluminum one. I believe that the magnaflow's aren't all aluminum, thus my problem. I was wondering if any of you came across a good quality and good sounding all aluminum muffler. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
Old 11-17-2005, 12:08 AM
LesteR723
5th Gear Member

Default RE: All Aluminum Muffler?

Well... i know how you feel... i'm a high school JR and i want to put exhaust on. After sampling NUMEROUS exhaust clips of even the same type of exhaust on different cars and such... i have concluded the single just isnt worth it, and if your going to do it at all, DO IT RIGHT!

I got a chance to take a peek at the current setup for the exhaust and it almost seems to be engineered to be dual. Its already got 2 Cats, and the Y joint isnt until about the back seats in relation to the interior; thus fabbing something (H-pipe/X-pipe) would be cheaper and easier. The deepest most throaty clip i'v heard was a flowmaster clip with an H-pipe fabricated at a local Meinekie shop (spelling?).