Notices
2005-2009 S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2005-2009 S197's

brake re-paint tips

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 02:27 AM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member

Default brake re-paint tips

What do you all recommend for touch up paint on the brake calipers?

I have a rattle can Duplicolor in red ready to go.. my brakes look very shady since their first paining back in 08.

They still have a bit of color, but look worn. Can I simply use some scotch brite with some brake cleaner, then spray them?

lite coats, followed by wait time then more thin coats. I was thinking of using a heat gun to quickly dry the process..

any suggestions welcome
Old 10-03-2011, 08:05 AM
kevilay
2nd Gear Member

I'm not a pro at this but I believe if you plan on painting ontop of the pant you have you have to clean it very well or it will flake off fast. What I would recommend is to go to home depot and buy one of the wire wheels and scuff it a up. Or clean it right to metal if it all flakes off. Then make sure u clean all the dusty flaky paint stuff. Then you can spray them. I used this process on my calipers and they look great
Old 10-04-2011, 12:20 AM
TinPony
3rd Gear Member

Use the brush on can, you get a much better coat. Do two coats, mine have been painted for over 4 years and still look great.
Old 10-04-2011, 01:54 AM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by kevilay
I'm not a pro at this but I believe if you plan on painting ontop of the pant you have you have to clean it very well or it will flake off fast. What I would recommend is to go to home depot and buy one of the wire wheels and scuff it a up. Or clean it right to metal if it all flakes off. Then make sure u clean all the dusty flaky paint stuff. Then you can spray them. I used this process on my calipers and they look great