Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP !!!! v8 Sounds like lawn mower

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2008, 11:26 PM
mustang07gt

Default HELP !!!! v8 Sounds like lawn mower

Hey guys, I have a 2007 Mustang Gt (manual) and today I was driving home, I switch from first gear to second gear @ around 3500 rpm and all of a sudden it sounded really bad and I lost alot of power. Then as fast as it happened it went away and I regained all my power a block down the street. YOu may ask why did'nt i pull over and shut the car off....well in this city easier said then done I was on a bridge in a traffic jam in the middle lane. Also the gear shift was shaking pretty rough. Any help would be appreciated !! It seems to be fine now, but what caused it ??? Thanks Again guys and girls !
Old 06-28-2008, 01:11 AM
DADZRYD
1st Gear Member

Default RE: HELP !!!! v8 Sounds like lawn mower

Can't help as I'm new to the Mustang world myself...I have noticed on a few occasions that my car seems to loose power for unknown reasons. For example, cruising down the freeway at a constant 75mph or so for a long period of time and then traffic comes to slow crawl. I downshift into the lower gears and as traffic begings to pick back up speed I step on the gas pedal (usually happens in 2nd gear) and my car sputters and feels as if it wants to stall. AndNO it wasn't from me being in the wrong gear and the RPM's not being correct, been driving manual's since I was a kid, I'm now 40.After that, the car runs fine. I can take off fast, slow, it really doesn't matter. It seems to me that it only happens after traveling at the same speed or close to the same speed for a considerable amount of time.