Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tires

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2010, 08:41 AM
bday123

Default Tires

Hello everyone - new to the forum.
I own a 2006 Mustang GT with the existing stock Pirelli's still on the car.
I'm to the point of purchasing a new set of tires and have had my
attention drawn to the Michelin Pilot Sport as an alternative.
Anyone else used these tires? thanks.
Old 05-12-2010, 11:58 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

I have no personal experience with the Pilot Sports but you might want to start your research with the ratings info on tirerack.com and some other tire websites. My g/f's '06 Pony has the Pirelli P-Zero's and for her type of driving they have been quite decent and the price isn't too bad. But it all depends on what your style of driving is and how you're expecting the car to handle.
Old 05-12-2010, 01:10 PM
05raggtop4.0
1st Gear Member

We have a set of Pilot Sports on another Ford we own. I would not buy another set of them. Ratings on TR sounded great, but I am under impressed with road noise, ride quality and wet traction. Just our experience.
Old 05-12-2010, 07:46 PM
PHX8839
2nd Gear Member

I love my Nitto 555's (255/50/17). They will not last as long as the Pirellis but will definitely hook up better. You can get a set of 4 for a little over $600 shipped from americanmuscle.com.
Old 05-12-2010, 09:03 PM
TorchedGT
1st Gear Member

I had a set on my past M3 - they're stellar tires, probably one of the most famous "uncompromising" tires out there, however they're incredibly expensive to the point where I might jump off a bridge if I got a flat tire.

Screw that lol.

I put the Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3s on the 'stang and it's the next closest thing to driving on rails.