Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Winter tire selection: my brain hurts...

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 01:01 AM
HypromanGT
3rd Gear Member

Default Winter tire selection: my brain hurts...

Hi All,

I have a 2008 Mustang GT, I live in the North-East, and I will be driving it through the winter. The last two winters I have survived on the stock Pirellis and some weight in the trunk, but with 47k on those tires I've decided to buy real winter tires this year and then probably end up buying new summer tires (and maybe rims) when the season is over. I have 17" rims and plan on mounting the winter tires on them.

I've heard a ton of good things about the Bridgestone Blizzaks here on the forums, and so I'm heavily leaning toward them. TireRack.com says they have the LM-60 for $162/tire and the WS70 for $133/tire.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to winter tires (or tires at all for that matter). However, I've lived and driven in the North-East basically all my life, so I'd like to think I'm a competent winter driver. I'm not really as much interested in going a zillion mph in the winter time, but I also don't want to buy something that is incorrect and/or dangerous.

What do you guys think? Will I be okay with the WS70 or are the LM-60s worth the extra cash (and please give your reasons why)?

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-08-2010, 01:16 AM
Zoom_H
1st Gear Member

get the WS70's, they will be leaps and bounds superior to the winter driving experience you had with all seasons in the years past.
Old 11-08-2010, 01:20 AM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member

I really liked my old Nokian Hakka 2's, now I run Hakka 5's on the rears, 2s out front

I wouldn't drive with anything else for the winter.
Old 11-08-2010, 06:40 AM
Nuke
6th Gear Member