Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is it tire season?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 04:58 PM
MustangMan1718
1st Gear Member

Default Is it tire season?

Just curious as if this time of year is the "only" time of steep tire discounts. I really haven't paid attention to it before as this is my first time looking into buying a set. Firestone currently has the Wide Oval Indy 500s on sale (buy 3, get 1--which is about $160 in savings) and I'm really tempted to bite. There are a few problems with this though:

-I haven't painted the rims that I bought to mount these on yet. (Along with the side problem of them needing to sit for a good amount of time to dry properly)

-This month is extremely busy for me as I have many assignments due and the first week of may is when our finals are.

-My bank account hasn't quite charged up to the point where I would want it to be. But if I buy now, I save in the long run.

-The Pirellis on the wheels now possibly have a season left on them. I still would have to be careful when roads are very wet though.

I know the subtotal of $556.93 sounds much sexier from the Firestone store near campus than the $700+ total I got from a local shop. Sure the first one doesn't include taxes, but that sale is the difference maker in this case. So once again, are tire sales usual just a Spring event?
Old 04-14-2011, 05:09 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

IMO, you can find tire sales 365 days a year. Winter tire sales tend to pop-up around fall but otherwise, I see all others on sale at one place or another all the time. Besides, you can haggle on tires just like you can haggle on most anything else, IF you have the *********.
Old 04-14-2011, 05:14 PM
TheYeti
2nd Gear Member