Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do replacement door subs matter without an amp?

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 05:10 PM
plouffedaddy

Default Do replacement door subs matter without an amp?

I have an 07 GT with the Shaker 500 stereo. The only thing that's not stock is a set of 5x7s I put in the front doors with just a little dampening material I had laying around...

I've read several threads on here about the Shelby sub replacements or the Pioneer shallow mount subs and everyone seems to say they need more power than the factory amp. (A little background on me---I used to be a MECP installer so I'll understand pretty much any term you throw out there if you should choose to do so) I fully understand they'll need more power to max their potential and I'll need to actually fully dampen both sides of the door when doing the install.

My basic question is: If you just drop in some aftermarket subs in the doors (with dampener installed) will it be a noticeable improvement in both low end performance and db level? I could throw an amp in but since I used to do all that stuff for a living back in the day I really don't like doing it anymore and am just looking for a little improvement. Thanks.
Old 09-18-2011, 08:25 PM
jdphillips73
4th Gear Member

i had the shaker 500 setup.. and as you know the door subs are very weak.

I put Memphis 8's in my doors

my setup includes panasonic headunit... 3 200 watt amps with jl1 subs in the trunk and boston acoustics in the factory mounts... along with crossovers, etc...

the memphis 8's will hit so hard you cant see out of the side mirrors for the shaking... and they are very clear...

good luck
Old 09-18-2011, 08:34 PM
luckydawg003
4th Gear Member