Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why no daytime running lights?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 06:14 AM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member

Default Why no daytime running lights?

I was thinking about this earlier, and have wondered for years...Howcome Ford has never put daytime running lights on the Mustang when they seem to be on about 90% of the other cars on the road produced since 2000 or so? Even GM had them on the 4th-gen Camaro and Firebird (don't recall off the top of my head if they're on the new Camaros) even though they were those weird super-bright parking lights that GM seems to like using.

Just curious
Old 07-11-2012, 06:55 AM
dennisafrompa
1st Gear Member

I don't know BUT I'm glad they don't. I know how to turn on my lights when I think they are needed to make me more visible.

I've been a driver 54 years and have well over a million miles on the road.
Old 07-11-2012, 07:38 AM
highline
4th Gear Member

Thanks sweet Jesus they don't have them...BTW, I cannot comment on any other camaros than the 2011 (wife has one) but they do have the DRL...
Old 07-11-2012, 07:48 AM
mdg
4th Gear Member

I hate daytime running lights...
Old 07-11-2012, 08:28 AM
YerBuddy
2nd Gear Member

Move to Canada...It's mandatory and Mustangs come with them. Personally, I'm glad they don't. I know how to turn the lights on/off.

I wouldn't be surprised if it becomes mandatory at some point. Just like TPMS...I know how to check tire pressure, but there are so many people who don't/won't that someone decided it would be a good idea to have a sensor tell us when the tire pressure is low. Phooey!
Old 07-11-2012, 08:48 AM
jdmcbride
4th Gear Member

I think the 2013's LEDs in the headlight casing are DRL? If so, I think they look pretty cool... Seems like all manufacturers are adding LEDs to cars these days.