4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

4 valve 4.6 and 2v 4.6 supercharger

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2016, 07:31 PM
lizzy3212112

Smile 4 valve 4.6 and 2v 4.6 supercharger

Hello,

I have a 2001 GT with the stock 4.6L. I have a 4v 4.6L that I plan to put in my car eventually. It is out of a 95 Lincoln Mark VIII. I'm a college student and don't want to spend the money to swap engines while my stock one is still in great condition. So I am waiting on my engine swap, but I do want a supercharger. I am trying to find out if there is a centrifugal supercharger I can buy that would work on both engines? That way I can do a simpler mod for my car now, without the work of a swap, but would still be useful after the swap. Any suggestions? I would rather have a supercharger, but I will get a turbo if I cannot get a supercharger that would work with both engines.

Thank You!
Elizabeth
Old 12-04-2016, 12:59 PM
Z28KLR
4th Gear Member

The blower itself will work with either engine. The mounting bracket for the blower will be specific to 2V or 4V though, but come time for your engine swap that's a minimal expense.

Regarding your propsed engine swap, I guess it depends on your goals for the car and if you're really into the project or not, but personally I don't see much point in swapping a good running PI engine for a Mark8 engine. The Mark8 engine doesn't do very much that your 2V can't easily be made to do, and stock vs stock they perform fairly close to one another. Now, if you were talking about a later 4V out of a Mach1 or 03 Cobra which have the "C" cylinder heads that would be different.